Vintage Rose(s) and Cameo

I made the first little batch of the new Vintage Rose formula and it came out well, so it’s time to scale up and make more. I want to change the name a bit to signify a change to the formula and to make it easier for people to know which version they have. I’m planning to just add an “s” and call it Vintage Roses, but if someone has a better idea I am open to suggestions. Compared to the original, I swapped in the new labdanum, decreased the synthetic amber, replaced coumarin with a tiny bit of heliotrope, added oakmoss, added a touch of aldehyde, added a little bit more sandalwood and a tiny hint of a leathery ingredient, and added four new floral ingredients. The formula is much more complex, but I think the end result is smoother and gentler. It may not have quite the sillage kick of the original, but the drydown is yummy and plenty strong enough for me. It still has a plumy rose at the heart (though not as winey) and a prominent amber accord in the base, but the details are a little different. It’s probably best to sample first if you loved the old (though so far testers who loved the old approve of the new). I want to get it back on the site by the end of the month assuming all goes well.

Also, a head’s up on Cameo: Because Cameo does not sell as fast as the other scents, I may take it off the main list in January and make it by request only. I need to make room for new scents since we can only keep so many going at once, and Cameo has been lagging in sales. If it is one of your favorites, you might want to buy in the next month.

Updated to add: Maybe I should give Vintage Rose a whole new name. Otherwise, it might get confusing for people, especially when checking for reviews. The new formulation is different enough to probably need a new name, one that is appropriate for an ambery rose. If I can’t think of something, I may have a little contest…

About Laurie E

artisan perfumer and owner of Sonoma Scent Studio
This entry was posted in Sonoma Scent Studio Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Vintage Rose(s) and Cameo

  1. brie says:

    If I may make a humble suggestion, a new name for Vintage Rose might be a good idea. I see this one as a great scent to try for those who usually don’t gravitate toward rose notes and possibly for a younger audience for it is indeed gentle and sweet to me. The word “vintage” might discourage some from trying it.

  2. brie says:

    I love the name Rose Umber for is indeed ambery 🙂 !!

  3. Laura says:

    How about “noces de rose” which apparently represents the 17 year wedding anniversary in the french tradition.

  4. I thought first of just “New Vintage Rose,” which is of course literally what it is, but also gets at the fact that it’s both old-fashioned and modern. For a totally new name: how about Rose Volupte? (Accent over the e, naturally) I think of it as a very sumptuous, voluptuous rose.

  5. rappleyea says:

    You could play on the color aspect of amber: Golden Rose, Tawny Rose, etc.

Leave a Reply

